cre•a•tiv•i•ty

On paper, it’s simple.

creativity

Simple, sure, but it’s easy to fall into the trap of overthinking; as ideas swirl around in our imagination, we are given the illusion of creation. However, it is not until pen hits paper, brush touches canvas, shutter opens and closes, that we are really and truly creating.

As a child I had both the privilege and misfortune of growing up in a small town. Madoc Ontario was a booming metropolis with a whopping population of 1400. My childhood home was a semi-detached that sat atop a hill, and had a maple tree stretching toward the sky in the backyard.

house

There was a skating rink at the edge of town that was only accessible by car or bike (if long bike rides didn’t make it feel like your lungs were being stabbed by a thousand swordsman… thanks adolescent asthma), a pool that was only open in the summer months, two playgrounds that were pre-school tiny, and another that was wooden; while it was an excellent venue for Grounders you were guaranteed to walk away with splinters as war wounds.

In a small town your entertainment is in your own hands. And that right there is what’s simultaneously great and horrible about that booming metropolis I grew up in.

Out of that boredom, my creativity flourished. I would grab a pencil and notebook, scramble up that maple tree in my back yard, plop down on my favourite branch, and create stories surrounding characters I created.

It was on that maple branch, six feet off the ground, that my creativity took root. That tree was the place I went when I wanted to write, needed inspiration, or craved a vantage point to see the world from a different perspective.

My aim with Maple Branch is to take that childlike curiosity, imagination, and drive for adventure, take inspiration from the environment around me, and let that, once again, kindle my creative spirit.

“Write it. Shoot it. Publish it. Crochet it, sauté it, whatever. MAKE.” – Joss Whedon

Leave a Reply

